Created in 1924 in honor of Edwin Erle Sparks, Alpha-Chi 1884, Iota 1884, president emeritus of Pennsylvania State University, and a truly great Chi Phi. The Sparks Memorial Medal is awarded annually to the man having the highest GPA in each Chapter and Colony. The Sparks Memorial Medal is Chi Phi’s highest award for individual academic achievement, reserved exclusively for those Brothers who have excelled in their academic rigors.

A truly singular honor, the Sparks Memorial Medal itself contains many historic symbols. A bar that bears the faces of the Hobart Order serves as the top anchor. It contains the word “Paideia,” Greek for “learning acquired by education.” A scarlet and blue ribbon, colors identical to those of the Hobart Order, suspends the medal from the bar pin. The medal is an embossed replica of the old Princeton pin containing the symbolic swords of the Southern Order and the stars of the Princeton Order. At the top and the bottom of the Phi is the name “Sparks Medal.”

Since only one medal can be awarded to each Chapter and Colony, the task of selecting the recipients can sometimes be quite Herculean.

It is awarded to the man in each Chapter and Colony who has attained the highest scholastic standing for that year. In the event of a tie in GPA, multiple Medals may be awarded.

Sparks Medal Nomination

Sparks Medal Nomination

The winner must have been an initiated member for the entire year.
Nominations for Sparks Memorial Medal can be made by a Campus Greek Advisor, Campus Professional, Chapter Advisor, or Faculty Advisor.


Past Recipients


Reed Coffey, Xi Delta 2020
James Dale, Alpha-Tau 2020
Dylan Di Florio, Delta 2020
Kyle Empen, Alpha-Pi 2020
David Favrot III, Delta Theta 2020
Carson Fields, Delta Pi 2018
William Harrison Hicks, Psi Zeta 2020
Zoltan Illes, Kappa Delta 2020
Johnny Maier, Eta 2019
Arman Niknafs, Rho Delta 2019
Thomas Oggier, Alpha-Chi 2019
Frank Oliu, Alpha Delta 2020
Dylan Parker, Phi Delta 2020
Jake Robinson, Alpha Zeta 2018
Sean Tocci, Lambda Theta 2019*
Jack Van Sant, Mu 2020
Michael Williams, Omega Zeta 2019


Jake Cruz, Psi Zeta 2017
Nicolas John Dante Dilliott, Sigma Delta 2018
Parker Thomas Doyle, Tau Zeta 2019
Juan Bautista Garza, Lambda Zeta 2017
Jeff Kallen, Omicron Theta 2018
Conor James Leahy, Psi 2020
George Daniel Mendez, Kappa Delta 2017
Alexander Luis Michaels, Xi Delta 2017
Pedro Pablo Ravelo, Nu Delta 2017
Kenneth David Rexer, Mu 2019
Jacob Hawkins Simpson, Alpha-Chi 2017
Sean Tocci, Lambda Theta 2019*
Kamron M. Van Hulzen, Alpha-Pi 2020


Elias A. Castro, Rho Delta 2017
Karl Edward Dickey, Rho Delta 2017
Derek Steven Kane, Alpha Theta Chi 2018*
Michael James Levanti, Iota 2017
Brody Lee Stogdill, Alpha-Pi 2019


Justin C. Adler, Psi Zeta 2017
Trond Ikdahl Anderson, Beta 2015
Guillermo Fernando De Guzman, Delta Zeta 2016
James Steven Dlugos, Alpha Delta 2017
John Michael Drago, Beta 2017
James Andrew Eschner, Xi 2017
Jonathan Fall, Delta Pi 2016
Hugh Michael Gallagher, Phi Delta 2017
Nathan Michael Jacobson, Xi 2016*
Austin Richard Janssen, Pi Theta 2015
Derek Steven Kane, Alpha Theta Chi 2018*
David Carrington Motley, Beta 2016
Robert Madison Radway, Beta 2016
Kevin H. Spanier, Xi Delta 2017
Bryan Michael Williams, Beta 2016
Mark Zisman, Rho Theta 2016


Anthony Carlson, Zeta Theta 2014
Kenneth Andrew DeWitt, Mu Theta 2015
Zachary M. Evans, Psi Zeta 2015
Chance Grzesik, Alpha Zeta 2016
Nathan Michael Jacobson, Xi 2016*
Mitchell L. Solomon, Xi Delta 2014
Nathaniel Lee Thome, Pi Theta 2015

* = Two-Time Recipient